Monday, July 27, 2015


The Penderwicks:  A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits and a Very Interesting Boy

By Jeanne Birdsall


I was very happy to find The Penderwick series. The first book in the series is “A Summer Tale of Four Sisters.” The Penderwicks spend three weeks at a cottage on the grounds of Arundel Mansion, when their usual summer cottage isn’t available. Their misadventures are perfectly delightful. They meet new friends, have flights of fantasy, adventures, and play that I hope and wish for kids nowadays. And—oh joy—this is just the first book of a five book series!

The Penderwicks—four sisters:  Rosalind, Skye, Jane, and little Batty, and their father—believe in honor and truth, but also in taking care of each other and having fun. Each sister is different with her own personality and interests. Seeing them interact as a family and in their own unique world outlook, is as much a part of the fun as are the misadventures they get into. There's even a wonderful dog, named Hound. 

I can’t tell you about one adventure or mishap without giving away some of the delight of discovery. This is a book that girls will enjoy, and even boys will find the action and adventures appealing. There's humor, fun, hijinks, puppy love, friendship and family dynamics. Highly recommended for ages 8-10, or even age 8-12.

Information on author Jeanne Birdsall at:

Jeanne Birdsall, The Penderwicks, Rosalind, Jane, Skye, Batty, Jeffrey, Churchie, Cagney, Miss Tifton, Dexter, rabbits, Hound, hedges, gardens, frog pond, adventures, soccer, baking brownies, writing, flowers, Mr. Penderwick, summer.

Reviewed by:
Penelope Anne Cole
Award Winning Author of Magical Matthew and Magical Mea 
and Mágico Mateo (Spanish) and gica Mea (Spanish)
New:  Magical Mea Goes to School
Coming soon:  Mágica Mea Va a la Escuela